Eugénie Angot  riding  Old Chap Tame wins first round of the « GRAND national » series.


The Auvers  stables 40 kilometers south of Cherbourg in Lower Normandy run by electrical and friendly Alain  Hinard hosted  for the last but nor least race of a 3 week compétition first round  of the “GRAND  national” series.

 On Saturday, Benjamin Robert, who is not a relative of star Michel Robert, made dead heat with  local rider Florian Angot  in the  7 year old class . The former riding  Quickly de Kreisker  a stallion by Diamant de Semilly the latter Quelverdrie du Temple a mare by For Pleasure. Just before this unusual result the 1,45 m speed class saw  Patrice  Delaveau win riding  Bernard Lecourtois’s mare  Ornella Mail. Yesterday  besides being a summer- like day it was the opening one for on line bets on  french national  showjumping. On a sunny and fortunately not windy morning, Franck Schillewaert won the 1,40m class after a  wonderful and particularly   efficient jump-off.. Riding  Norway de la Lande a 10 year old stallion by Narcos II.  He was the fastest ahead of  Nicoals Delmotte riding Norton de la Sapaie ( Flushing). At 2.30 pm sharp on a warming  afternoon in front of a massive crowd the first of 50 competitors entered the ground where international course builder Jean-Paul Lepetit  had layed  on a 13 fence course  including  a  devastating vertical at fence  eight. Former  worldcup finalist Eugénie Angot was the first  of 10  qualifiers riding  9 year old  Denis Brohier’s stallion Old Chap Tame ( Carthago).  Slowest of that field Eugénie started first for the jump off . She knocked a 39.28 second time fast enough to secure her overall win. Brother in law Florian Angot  was second riding  Made in Semilly winner in Caen last autumn. Patrice Delaveau  and “ his” Ornella was the fastest of the day  by more than  2 seconds. The  bold silvermedalist of Lexington removed a  stride to jump the last fence with a 4 fault as a result. RESULTS / 1- E. Angot/Old Chap Tame (0/39.28), 2-Florian Angot/Made  in Semilly ( 0/40.01),3-Mathieu  Laveau/Lambre du Chêne (0/41.70),4- Alexis Gautier/Helios de la Cour II (0/41.81),5-Patrice Delaveau/Ornella Mail (4/36.91)